This past week brought a new blue plastic brace for my surgically repaired thumb.  What first struck me about it was how my thumb looks so large as it’s immobilized out to the side, and then I noticed it was a great shade of Kansas University Jayhawk blue.  But as much as I was cheering for my home-state KU Jayhawks, they just couldn’t pull through in today’s  NCAA game.  However, it was not all for want…my weekend consisted of the following:  three full tanks of gasoline, one hotel room in Ames Iowa, and  850 miles on I-35 for a surprise visit to Kansas City to celebrate my Mom & Dad’s 60th wedding anniversary…it was all priceless!  We succeeded in showing up at Mom & Dad’s house prior to a big celebratory dinner with my brothers and their families. Everyone was successful in not letting Mom & Dad know of our plans for a quick trip south to join them.  It turned out to be a grand surprise, and a great celebration with all my nieces and nephews in attendance too.  Congratulations Mom & Dad on a grand celebration of 60 years of marriage!

